h1

A Day Late…

February 7, 2009

… and a dollar short.  That’s how it goes, right?  Well, this seems to be my mantra this past 10 days.  Yesterday was the weekly podcast, I made note of some Previews and ezine releases and what happens?  Today I see Interweave Knits Spring 2009 Preview.  Wowsa!  I am not falling for all the designs but this issue looks really great.  

Connie Chang Chincio, one of my favorite new designers has two great designs in this issue – and one, Soap Bubble Wrap, will be posted exclusively at KnittingDaily.com from Feb 24,2009 – May 25, 2009!  How sweet is that!?!  The other, Silk Cocoon Cardigan, is a ballet wrap-style cardigan featuring trellis cables at the cuffs and shoulders.  Tres feminine, and that, is Connie’s signature.  

 

Silk Cocoon Cardigan by Connie Chang Chincio

Silk Cocoon Cardigan by Connie Chang Chincio

The Soap Bubble Wrap is a wrap cardigan with the Sun Spot stitch Pattern from Barbara Walker splashed on the right shoulder and the left hip.  I love this unexpected detail and can’t wait for the release of this pattern.

 

 

Soap Bubble Wrap by Connie Chang Chincio

Soap Bubble Wrap by Connie Chang Chincio

While there are several cardigan designs, this is the Spring issue after all, there are also two lace designs as well as a featherweight stole.  Also, just what you might expect in the Spring issue.  But there are so many pleasant little surprises in the issue: A pair of lace stockings, an interestingly textured slip dress, an unconventional halter, a versatile shawl (shown on the model as a skirt) by Norah Gaughan, a unique shoulder bag and my favorite surprise, the Baa Rug by Becca Smith, a rug knit from wool roving and fingering weight yarn.  

 

Baa Rug by Becca Smith

Baa Rug by Becca Smith

So this post is really a two or three in one… so please forgive the lack of photos above as I must catch up.

 

OK, last week I mentioned the CPSIA – I want to let all know that a stay has been granted but, this does not mean it’s all over.  What it does mean is we have 1 year to form together to demand the CPSIA is amended.  This also means if you manufacture safe items, you may continue to do so without fear of fines or imprisonment.  Please take this time to educate yourself, learn the facts and raise your voice.  Great info can be found at Etsy.com or ReformCPSIA.org  

Alrighty!

So I finished the Transformers hat and DS2 just loves it.  So much so I have not been able to weave in the ends or block it as he seems to be wearing it at all times.

 

Transformers Hat

Transformers Hat

Oh!  I won!!! I won, I won, I won!! I am sooo excited about this!  Sydney and Marley, of Knaked Knits and Yarn Thing hosted a Holiday KalCal.  There were so many prizes to be one, making the odds of winning even better – thank you ladies!  Anyhow, I won Get Ziggy (ravel it!) from Anny Purls! Yay!  I also noticed two Ravelry friends won, too!  ToadyJoe won the Vogue Knitting 25th Anniversary Book and FariySari won a pattern PDF of her choice from Twist Collective.  Congrats to all winners!  Thanks again to Sydney and Marley and all the prize contributors.

So what else… well, if you listen to the Podcast, you know already!  So, go listen!!  Please post comments in iTunes, pretty please!

 

I am still working on learning to crochet – going ok but I get sort of confused. :/ IDK – seems easy but …

So, I released a pattern – it is FREE!  I actually just sang that sentence to you :) PrivetKnits and I had a little convo and I suggested combining Fetching with Owls.  She asked me to do it.  I did it. The pattern in is called Owlings (ravel it!) And now I share it with you all, Gratis.  I will say, I think I should have gone into publishing because I love creating aesthetically pleasing PDFs.  But, I realize this is not kind to our printers or pocketbooks so you will find a plainer version, more B&W here.

 

Owlings

Owlings

So, I have had a busy-ish week family wise and hadn’t been over in Ravelry this week.  I just left Ravelry – I won there, too!  OMG!  Aztecmonkey hosted the Phat Phlag KAL in Monthly Adventures, for which I knit DS2 2 hats, the blue one and the Transformer one!  That Aztecmonkey had a tough job choosing a winner – so she chose all!!! Yup! She gave everyone a prize!  UnBeLievAble!  Thank you Maribel!!!! (((H)))

I think I’ll end this here, don’t want to dry your eyes out! ;)  See ya next week!

One comment

  1. I have had Owlings faved for a while now on Ravelry and today I became brilliant: Owlings is what I’m going to make for my son’s senior year counselor, who has been a GODDESS this whole year. I wanted to give her something “teachery” to thank her for her constant efforts, but the apple thing is tricky and a bit overused. Ten minutes ago I realized Owlings will be perfect! She is a wise and loving teacher/counselor. I just downloaded your pattern (and would have bought it if you were selling) and can’t wait to get started. Whee! Thank you.



Leave a comment