h1

Fiber, Fiber, Fiber, Hat, Hook!

January 26, 2009

No, it’s not a silly game.  I have had a fairly productive week in my fiber loves.  

First, I had some yummy Angora spinning fiber arrive. I had been waiting for this fiber so that I can partake in the Spinner’s Study group in Ravelry.  As soon as the fiber arrived I yanked off a handful and tried to fluff it up.  I decided to use my hand cards, this required five passes through the cards to make the rolags nice and fluffy. 

 

Fiber Prep Set Up

Fiber Prep Set Up

 

First Two Angora Rolags

First Two Angora Rolags

 

 

 

 

I started a bobbin with a few pure Angora rolags.   Ulitmiately, I found fiber to be fairly easy to spin but initially we had a few minutes to get to know each other.  Once the rolags were finished spinning, I decided to blend some angora with some dyed Corriedale.  This time I blended on my mini-makeshift-hackle, as I do not own any hand combs – yet.  The Angora did not blend thoroughly and I am sure it would have blend better on the hand cards but – well, the final result was still nice to spin and looked pretty too.

 

Angora in Corriedale

Angora in Corriedale

 

Angora in Corriedale

Angora in Corriedale

 

 

 

Then I decided to blend more Angora with some Merino, again on my mini-makeshift-hackle.  And, again, not very thoroughly blended but still, loved the feel, the spin and the end result.  

 

Angora in Merino

Angora in Merino

 

 

I then carded and spun a little more pure Angora onto the bobbin.  I felt pretty good with the fiber and I feel as though I understand it better now than I did fresh out of the bag.  I decided that my exercise was finished and hoarded the remaining 3 ounces into the stash, to be blending for a future project. ;)

I should note now, that this month’s SAL in Spinner Central in Ravelry was to be a bust for me initially.  I had some Romney I had purchased in Etsy.  Before I placed the order, I asked lots of questions about the fiber such as: is it clean, is it clear (of nepps), etc.  When the fiber arrived, I began spinning and discovered that the 4 ounces were loaded with VM, nepps and even a bug!  I was really disappointed with the fiber and contacted Etsy about it.  They let me know that this seller has a few strikes against them and had voluntarily closed shop.  However, I did manage to pick most of the ick out as I spun and I suppose it turned out alright:

 

Romney Singles

Romney Singles

 

 

I also started some dye pots this past week.  I dyed a bunch of sock yarn, I plan to donate 1 skein to my DD’s shop, to add 1 skein to my stash and possibly to sell the other  2 skeins.  I haven’t taken any photos yet as I’d like to make the skeins first.  I will most likely have pictures by next week’s post.

After that pot was exhausted, I started  a pot of a green-ish color.  Into the pot went a few ounces of BFL and Corriedale, for the kids spindling.  I am pretty surprised at the difference in color between the two, the BFL is noticeably darker than the Corriedale.  I can’t figure out why.  Still, both colors are nice and most importantly, the kids like them.

 

(L) BFL (R) Corriedale

(L) BFL (R) Corriedale

 

 

I went on to dye some more Corriedale, over 4 ounces this time and hand dyed instead.  I chose three colors: a teal, a light blue and a dark blue.  I dotted the colors in sequence throughout the top and then steamed it.  It did not turn out at I had envisioned, but still very pretty:

 

4+ oz Corriedale Hand Dyed

4+oz Corriedale Hand Dyed 30 Jan ETA - I just bought a better scale, it's actually 6.25 oz/177 g!

 

 

 

 

I am not sure yet what I will do with this.  I may use it but I may also consider selling it, too.

As for knitting, I did start the Transformer’s Hat for DS2.  It is a great knit and all the kids love it, even the biggest kid – DH ;)  

 

Transformers Hat - Progress

Transformers Hat - Progress

 

 

I hope to be finished with it by Friday – wish me luck!

The newest and latest happening is Crochet… for those who do not know, I can’t crochet.  Nope, not a bit.  I have always had issues with the fiddlyness of it and besides, knitting seemed far more elegant anyhow.  But, secretly, it eats me up that I can not crochet!  Palomabella to the rescue!  Palomabella created a great crochet tutorial in the Monthly Adventures Group in Ravelry, and this month she started a CAL involving Broomstick Lace.  I agreed to join in the fun but felt hopeless of my success.  After several failed attempts, I finally got it and am learning to love it!

 

 

Broomstick Lace

Broomstick Lace

Leave a Reply

