h1

Episode #43: Weave Only Just Begun

January 7, 2010

Episode #43 is now loaded in iTunes, please subscribe for automatic notification of future episodes.

Announcements:

  • Spring for Babies Kal/Cal 2009 was quite a success!  I am currently making arrangements for a Spring for Babies Kal/Cal 2010 and will keep you posted.  A few changes this year: all handmade items donated to any local charity or organization are permitted.  To include items for the elderly, poor, homeless, displaced, abused, recovering,etc, as well as pets.

Books Reviewed:

Links:

8 comments

  1. Kerrie – so nice to hear a new podcast from you! I have to say that I agree with you about the e-books. Especially for crafting books – I want a hard copy in my hand, not an e-book online. Just lettin’ you know that you have one fan in agreement!
    Barb (aka Knittybarb on Ravelry)


  2. Thanks for the newest podcast. While I’m not interested in starting to weave, I still found the material on weaving very interesting. I agree that one should be able to purchase a printed copy of craft materials and also have a hard time with those companies that will not supply one. Have a good week!


  3. Thank you for the book reviews, I always look forward to them. Like you I love books and am not a fan of ebooks, that is why we live in a house with bookcases in every room. :)


  4. Hi Kerrie!
    I just wanted you to know that I enjoy your podcast very much and because I want to listen to you more I have 1 question: is it possible to get ALL your episodes via iTunes? Currently there are only episodes from 24th to the last, and I’d like to hear the first 23 podcast on my iPod. Thank you for that. And I have my view on ebooks – I like them because it is convinient for travelling. We (with my family) had to move from NY to Russia and i had my suitcases and my small child and believe me I don’t want to move heavy books around! Since then I moved to my husband’s hometown another time and to my hometown all across the whole Russia (2 days of travelling) and my books were with me without heavylifting! I’m happy! I scanned them for my personal use and they are with me in my laptop. And I am a booklover as you and I want to have ALL of them with me!
    About printing cost – yes, it costs more expensive, but we can print 4 pages on 1 page (2 from each side) – and this way it is less weight to carry the book around.(I believe it is possible to print them like that).
    I am not only a knitter, but also a crocheyer. I know that you’re learning to crochey. If you ever consider to crochey a good-looking garment, I want to recommend you this book:Everyday crochet by Doris Chan. i love this book! All garments are crocheted from the top down and you can try it on how it fits as you crocheying – very convinient! And all garments are done with great style!
    And 1 more question: will you move back to US when your husband is finished with his work? I’m just amazed how you have all your house with you in Europe – I mean all books and supplies. :)
    I hoped my post wasn’t boring to you!
    Klara from Russia


  5. I want to thank you for all your reviews. I also live outside the states and can’t go to a LYS to look at books and your reviews are so helpful for me!! I also enjoy hearing about your life in Germany. I use to speak German (in high school and I lived in Germany for three months), but Chinese has eaten all the German out of my brain!


  6. Hello,
    Love your podcast. About the books: I love to hold books and see the pages in full instead of scrolling on a computer. The downside would be if authors wouldn’t be able to publish due to cost. Then we would be limited by just the affluent authors writing books. If ebooks open up more availability to information, I am willing to sacrifice. Just my 2 cents!
    Thanks for all that you do. I love the reviews and would like to hear more about projects and yarn reviews, but I know you don’t have much time…

    Kelly in West Virginia
    wvkelly in Ravelry


  7. Thanks for another great episode Kerrie!

    I didn’t participate in the Spring for Babies Kal/Cal last year (don’t think I was reading your blog yet then) but I’m hoping to do it this year. Sounds great!


  8. I also got a loom for Christmas, a 32″ Ashford and was thrilled to listen to your podcast!! You gave such good information, so clear and easy to understand. Thank you so much! Your book review for weaving was great and such a help to know what book to buy to get me started! Thank you for all your hard work on the podcast. I have listened to them all and enjoy hearing about your family, your moves, the trips you take and most of all your crafting! I hope you keep on podcasting for a long time because I for one feel very blessed after a visit with you!



Leave a Reply

