h1

Addressing Podcast Issues and a New Prize Drawing

December 19, 2009

So two weeks ago I recorded Episode #42, a great episode to include four books some chat on sock knitting, holiday knitting, spinning and a new-to-me craft, weaving.  I also announced the winner of the last prize drawing and shared information on creating your own ‘junk’ tools for spinning and weaving.  I really wish you could have heard that particular show, I felt like I was truly back in the saddle.

But you won’t hear it.  I was able to upload the show to the server, it showed up in my archives immediately so I wrote a post and clicked ‘publish’.  Everything seemed to be going as expected.  I ran down to the kitchen to make a pot of tea and when I returned I searched for the show’s feed so that I could distribute the show.  The feed was not there.  I then logged back in to the server and the show was not there either.  It seems to have been swallowed up by the ubiquitous black hole that is the internet.

Not one to overreact too soon, I reluctantly began to start the uploading process over, from scratch.  Searching my files, it too was gone.  How it could be missing from my computer is truly beyond me, though my DH has a reasonable explanation.  DH believes there was a slight power surge, causing my file to disappear from my computer (I am notorious for not saving files in progress).  And, since my session was not over within the server, it too vanished.

This coming week I will be recording once again but I can’t bring myself to completely regurgitate the ‘lost’ show.  I will review some, if not all, of the books and will share some of the ‘old’ information as well as new information.  I will also announce the following:

New Prize Drawing!

This will be one of the next books to be reviewed and has been donated by Random House for this Prize Drawing. Thank You Random House!

Rules for this drawing: Post a comment anywhere on this blog from today until 19 January 2009 11:59 pm CET. (Can’t get a time calculator for you *right now* but will do so in the next few days.)

9 comments

  1. What an awesome looking book. Can’t wait to see the review. Thanks


    • Congratualtions, You Won! Please email your mailing address :-)


  2. Kerrie,

    I’m sorry you lost your post into the void, but then again you still have your great mind & sense of humor, so you can prevail. Looking forward to hearing from you.
    docM


  3. Kerrie I love the cover of the book as well.


  4. I am really sure that I listened to that episode. You talked about making spindles out of various household items, right? There were other things, but that’s the one that stuck with me. I don’t have it on my iPod anymore, since I listened to it. But, I’m sure that I listened.

    AND, I just checked iTunes and it’s there!!! (Which makes me feel so much better…I was a little worried that I had oddly dreamed it.) It looks like whatever issue there was has been resolved.


  5. The last podcast I heard from you talked about wanting a loom for Christmas and about spindles plus other things. I have experienced similar feelings too about a lot of what you talked about.
    I do a lot around the house and for family and have to not feel guilty sometimes or wonder how long of a break I should give myself, when I take time out for knitting/fiber things since there is always something waiting to be done in the home or for someone. For fiber activities, I am glad it works with being interrupted with other duties–it is often off and on throughout a day. I would be content to dwell in fiber goodness for hours. It is a balancing act.
    I am a weaver and knitter mostly and have done handspindling and crochet also.
    I’m getting a used Ashford Traditional early January and am excited to try spinning on the wheel; have wanted to try that for a few years now.
    Thank you for entering me in your drawing. Take care.
    StaceyKnitsIt


  6. I downloaded this podcast from iTunes when it first came out – the date on my playlist shows Dec. 11. I finally finished listening to it yesterday. Great podcast. I especially enjoyed the segment on spindling. I took a class at my LYS in early November and it included a selection of fibre and an inexpensive spindle. It was a wonderful way to be introduced to spinning. So I’ve been checking out spindles on the web and becoming totally overwhelmed. Thank you so much for the review – I’ve been eyeing a Golding, but hesitated on spending the money sight unseen. They certainly have some beautiful spindles! I’m glad to know that they offer a quality product and will give them serious consideration when I’m ready to take the leap.

    Have a very Merry Christmas and enjoy all that the holiday has to offer! I understand that Christmas in Germany is quite an experience and one that I am sure will create many wonderful family memories.

    Sandy


  7. That looks like a fun book! Can’t wait to hear your next podcast. That must be so discouraging, having your last episode get “lost.” Better luck on the next one! Don’t forget to keep pressing the save button as you record! :)


  8. Oh, the cat on the cover of that book is too cute. I have never tried needle felting, but it seems like something I should try! Great review!



Leave a Reply

