h1

Days Away

August 11, 2009

We are literally days away from our departure from Italy and arrival in Germany.  In the past 10 days we have managed our little circus quite well, if I do say so myself.  From packing our home, organizing our move, orchestrating the moving company, filling and filing paperwork (lots of paperwork) and a few other suprises along the way; we have remained sane and mostly stress free.

I have to say though, without the aide of some wonderful people, this move would not be so easily done.  Our family friends, by first names – Melinda and JP, have been fantastic.  There were days Melinda volunteered to take all four  kids!  This may not seem like such a big deal to some but consider that Melinda has her own brood of four children as well!  This family is amazing to say the least and I am so grateful for their presence in our lives.  Last night I mentioned to my husband how wonderful Melinda and JP are and how they had volunteered their help without our soliciting.  My husband, being a macho type – not intent on gushing, simply relplied, “Well, they realize what it is to conduct a move and live a life with four kids.  I’m grateful for their help, but I am not surprised.”

At first I was upset at my husband’s under reaction to Melinda and JP’s generosity.  Then I let it all sink in and I realize, he is right.  When good people do good things, especially when those good people understand the given circumstances, it is not surprising.  I suppose I am so accustomed to the sterile relationships that seem to dominate our society, that I tend to over react towards the genuine kindness of others.  To encounter genuine people, especially non-fiber folks ;), is fast becoming a rare occurrence.

Anyhow, this is the first time I’ve been online since the drawing and last podcast.  I have accomplished some knitting and spindling but I will save that for the next entry.  Until then, Auf Wiedersehen!

Leave a Reply

