h1

Knit Study, Anyone?

June 13, 2009

As mentioned in last week’s entry and this week’s podcast, I am planning a Knit Study/Learn Along.  I still am not certain of the actual title but am leaning heavily toward Knit Study.  What do you think?

So you know, I will be playing along with you.  Each week I will announce the new study on the podcast, then post instructions here.  During the week, I will insert photos of my progress and/or instructional info here and in the Destiknit the Podcast Group in Ravelry.

This week will be easy.

  1. Gather up some worsted weight yarn and needles in three different sizes.
  2. Cast on at least 32 stitches onto the largest needle size, Knit 1.5 to 2 inches (height) in stockinette stitch.
  3. Switch to the next size smaller needle, Knit 1.5 to 2 inches in stockinette stitch.
  4. Switch to the last set of needles, Knit 1.5 to 2 inches in stockinette stitch, BO.

Now, some of you may ask, “Why am I casting on 32 stitches?  Why not 16-24?”  In my opinion, you should make a swatch larger than 4 inches (10 cm) for several reasons.  The first being your measurement of 4 inches (10 cm) should be taken from the center of your swatch.  By doing this, you have no worries or fussiness of rolling stitches near the selvedges also, stitches nearer the selvedges tend to be tighter.  Another reason for making a larger swatch is to see the true drape in fabric.

The exercise in the study is to note the effects of needle size in gauge and the overall effects of the fabric due to needle size.  I have a reason for this… stick with me here.

(Photo of my finished swatch will be here)

Next, let’s wash our swatch, just as we would wash a finished piece.

(Photo of my swatch being washed will be here)

Block your piece as you normally would.  If you have never blocked a piece before, instructions can be found here.

(Photo of my swatch blocking will be here)

Once your swatch is dry, measure 4 inches (10 cm) from the center of your swatch.  Because we are only knitting 1.5 to 2 inches high, we will not worry too much (at the moment) about row count.

(Photo of my block and gauge measurements will be here)

So, what was the point in this exercise?

(I will answer this question when we are finished) ;)

Leave a Reply

