h1

Spinning, Dyeing and Overcoming Fears

November 14, 2008

This week has been quite a triumphant week for me, fiber-wise.  It began with my dyeing a few tops of BFL:

 

 

 

 

I then dyed another, smaller top and forgot to take pictures of it because I was so wanting to spin it up!

 

I wanted to spin a single but with a barber-pole effect – I think I accomplished my goal! 

In retrieving these pictures, I realize I had not posted photos of my version of the UltraLight Lisard, which I had mentioned in the last Podcast, here is a photo:

And this is not all I’ve done this week!  I also knitted just a little of the Kenobi.  I now have the front and collar to complete and then on to blocking and finishing.

 

And finally, my proudest milestone of the week, knit-wise, is overcoming my Fair Isle issues.  I still have much to learn of course and even more to refine, but I am quite pleased with my results so far.

Of course, I have also Podcasted this week as well and would you believe, I even managed to keep up with this weeks chores?  Now ask me how much sleep I’ve had.

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. I wanted to email you but couldn’t find and email address…are you referring the alpacas, like the animal that we get fiber from when you say alpaLca? If so, I think that you’re pronouncing it wrong.


  2. Thanks for the comment! My email address is destiknit AT gmail DOT com, as noted on the blog and under the Podcast.

    And yes, I am referring to the animal and you are SOOOO right, I obviously am saying it wrong! Thanks so much – I will be sure to correct my pronunciation in the future. I seem to have a terrible habit of inserting letters into words! :”)



Leave a Reply

