h1

My Very First HandSpun Skeins

October 25, 2008

I must be honest, my first hand spun skein did not impress me at all.  I was very dissatisfied with the results and let the yarn sit on my desk for over a week.  This week, I spun afresh new skein, this time experimenting with different hand holds and drafting techniques.  Again, I was not too impressed with the end result.  

On Thursday, I was chatting away in a spinning forum and someone asked for pictures.  I explained how ugly my skeins were and that pictures would only embarrass me further.  She then asked if I had washed and weighted the skeins.  I replied I had not, I did not think any amount of moisture or weight would make much of a difference in my skeins’ appearance.  She strongly urged me to just go ahead, wash and weigh and that I may be surprised of the results.

Boy, was she right!

Unfortunately, I did not take any before photos.  I did not want to document my ‘failure’, I wanted to make a nice yarn.  I did however just take photos of the finished skeins.  Please let me know what you think :)

 

 

My First Skein, BFL

My First Skein, BFL

 

 

First HandSpun, BFL

First HandSpun, BFL

 

 

My Second Hand Spun, BFL

My Second Hand Spun, BFL

 

 

Second HandSpun, BFL

Second HandSpun, BFL

6 comments

  1. If that is terrible first spinning, you don’t get to see mine!! Your skeins look awesome! I can’t wait to see how you improve. :)


  2. Hi Destiknit, this looks so good! I am so impressed!!!
    My first or second skein of handspund did not look that good! – must see and get some of that BFL too, amazing!!! WELL DONE :-)
    Did you use the drop spindle? and it is single plied, isn’t it?


  3. Hi Yarngeek! Nice to “see” you again! Thank you so much :”) I really like this spinning thing… my goal is to make sock yarn and knit a pair, then a sweater’s worth of the stuff… Hopefully I have a wheel by then. Thanks again for the comment!


  4. Yes, GrF, these were spun on the top-whorl drop spindle, and yes, they are singles. This week I am experimenting with plying… wish me luck!


  5. perfect spinning for your first attempt – well done indeed! – p.s i found you via ravelry ;)


  6. :”) ~Why thank you! Really though, not at all perfect. *running to find YOU in ravelry!*



Leave a Reply

