h1

Spin Baby, Spin

October 7, 2008

As though I need another activity to consume my time, I too have been bitten by the spinning bug.  I’ve always known I would give spinning a … er … spin … but I am a bit surprised at myself for taking it on right now.  

 

My spindle is a basic do-it-yourself-er, made from parts from a craft supply chain.  There is nothing wrong with my spindle, she functions as she should and while she is a Plain Jane, I could easily pretty her up with some stains or paints.  Still, recently I find myself oogling over all the pretty drop spindles:

Iridescent Spindle by ButterflyGirlDesigns

Iridescent Spindle by ButterflyGirlDesigns

 

Ornate by Spinsanity

Ornate by Spinsanity

 

Millefiore by ButterFlyGirlDesigns

Millefiore by ButterFlyGirlDesigns

 

Copper Iridescent by ZebisisDesigns

Copper Iridescent by ZebisisDesigns

 

 

 

Will I ditch Plain Jane and pick up one of those glitzy gals?  Likely not.  But I may strongly consider picking up this one:

 

 

AromaTherapy RingSpindle by Golding

AromaTherapy RingSpindle by Golding

 

 

 

Using the drop spindle is a relaxing time and I would imagine the added scent would be soothing as well.  I came across this quite accidently and almost hadn’t noticed the aromatherapy angle until I questioned the use of the “hatch” on top.  Still, I can not see myself spending so much on a drop spindle.  Most likely I will manufacture something at home so that Plain Jane can smell as sweet.  

That said, Golding Fiber Tools, or rather the man who is Golding Fiber Tools, Tom Golding, is a genius of an artist.  Each of his spindles and wheels are manufactured by hand in his home workshop.  When I surfed his site, I instantly feel in love with his handwork.  I will not bore you with words, see for yourself:

 

Tsunami by Golding

Tsunami by Golding

 

Cherry and Walnut Whorl by Golding

Cherry and Walnut Whorls by Golding

 

DragonFly by Golding

DragonFly by Golding

Skull and Crossbones by Golding

Skull and Crossbones by Golding

One comment

  1. Those spindles make me want to attempt hand spinning again. But I am terrible at it and always go back to my wheel (probably a lack of teaching…). The aromatherapy spindles are supposed to be really good. Kelley of KnitPicks absolutely loves hers. You need to post a picture of your Plain Jane spindle!



Leave a Reply

