h1

Thine Covet

March 20, 2008

This month is sailing by and I just realized that I forgot to post a Thine Covet!  Could it be there is nothing tempting me?  Not At All.  In fact, there is much tempting me as of late.  Let’s see… yarns, patterns, books, gadgets, even needles.  Oh yes, I have been tempted.  Thankfully, I have been almost too distracted to care to do anything about my wants and wishes.  But things are starting to settle down and I find myself over at Etsy, Amazon or WEBS to fill in the voids.

So, what have I had my peepers  on?  I have really wanted some luxury yarn.  Something soft and decadent.  What does that mean exactly?  I’m not calling out any brand names necessarily, but something that is soft and lofty like an alpaca or cashmere.  Of course, I do not neglect my wool either.  I know full well that there are sumptuous wools that I have yet to try, like Malabrigo.  Below are some eye candy that I have saved in my ‘pictures’ folder – imagine that.  I actually download and save pictures of the yarns I want… Help me, please.

 

  

 Malabrigo Silky Merino, Teal Feathers

 Malabrigo Silky Merino, Green Grey

 

Malabrigo Silky Merino, Amoroso

  

Malabrigo Silky Merino, Plum Blossom 

 

 

Malabrigo has been lost on me.  I know, I know.  No, I did not give into the craze of Malabrigo when I first heard of it, no matter the gushing I heard from other knitters.  It’s so soft!  It’s so rich in color!  This was all lost on me for one reason, I like lighter weight yarns.  Don’t get me wrong – I will use Heavy Worsted and Bulky in projects, but I  prefer to knit with DK or lighter.  I find the knitting more enjoyable when I use a lighter weight yarn.  So, no, Malabrigo was not even close to the top of my Wish List, not until I saw the Silky Merino.  Now, my friends, I too will join the brigade of Malabrigo revelers.

Leave a Reply

