h1

Flower Basket Shawl ~ FO

February 20, 2008

Have I ever mentioned how much I love Ravelry?  I mean, I really, really love it.  Like a kid loves candy, I love Ravelry.  I can’t get enough of it.  And, as if it couldn’t get any better, Casey and Jess keep adding new features, making Ravelry a knitter’s dream.  If you do not have Ravelry, sign up now!  Yes, there is a waiting list.  Yes, it seems like forever before your ‘in’, but once you pass through the portal of the Welcome page, your knitting life will change forever.

How so?

In my last post, I mentioned I was having trouble blocking my Flower Basket Shawl.  This had never happened to me before and I could not figure out what the problem was.  In addition to posting here, I posted my issue in Raverly as well.  I received a flood of PMs and direct responses to my issue.  I tried the first suggestion and Viola!

FBS FO

See that?  No pins there!  The points stayed!  Yea! 

 So, what was the problem?  A dear Raveler suggested that the yarn I was using had a high oil or lanolin content and that I should wash again in very warm, almost hot water. Well, considering I had washed in quite tepid, almost cold water, I re-washed and re-blocked.  Thankfully, that worked.  Another Raveler mentioned that the issue began before I started knitting since I selected a yarn that contained polymide.  I myself considered this at first.  In fact, I thought of this before I began knitting, but I was assured  through another Raveler at that early stage that the ratio was ‘okay’.  Still, I think in the future I will knit lace with wool, alpaca or silk and steer clear of  any elastin-type fiber.

Thanks to all who helped me with this little issue! 

 ETA: Can you believe it?  Among the many suggestions I received, Katie Himmelberg of Interweave Knits sent her suggestions along as well!  Noting that the yarn I used contained polymide, she suggested steam blocking… which would have been my next choice had the re-washing not worked!  Thanks Katie!


Leave a Reply

